Thursday, April 5, 2012

What’s on Tap – April 2012

The blog entries are piling up on me.  First I’m a day late on the “In My Mailbox” for this week, now I’m four days late on my “What’s on Tap” post for April.  To make matters worse, I’ve yet again undershot my reading and reviewing goals for the previous month.  I’m a regular under achiever.  So in order to give myself a little breathing room this month, I’m only going to list the books I’ve already read or I know for 100% certain I’ll be finishing this month.  Crazy thing is there’s more than enough of them to keep my busy. 

The King in Yellow by Robert W. Chambers – I’ve mentioned this one before—the granddaddy of weird tales, late 19th century American author, major influence for H.P. Lovecraft.  I need to quit talking about it and write a damn review.  And to quote Forest Gump, “That’s all I have to say about that.”

The Dramatist by Ken Bruen – This is one of the reviews I’ve got hanging around from my trip to Orlando.  They’re mostly audio books.  18 hours in the car gives you a lot of time for that kind of thing.  The Dramatist is a mediocre Irish crime novel—not bad, just not very exciting either.  Similarly, I can’t seem to get excited for this review.  Someone light a fire under my butt, please.

The Foreign Correspondent by Alan Furst – Another Orlando audio book.  I’d heard good things about this historical spy novel, but I never felt invested in the story so it kind of fell flat for me.  I’m not about to start burning all copies of the novel, but the review is going to more “meh” than anything else.

Fear of the Dark by Walter Mosley – Have I mentioned that I love Walter Mosley?  Well I do.  Fear of the Dark is the audio book I’m currently listening to, and I can tell you right now I’m going to be reading more from him in the future.  His African American twist on the modern (and historical) crime novel is addicting and immensely satisfying.  I’m hooked.

The Deadfall Project by Brett James – Another of my current reads—this one is a thriller in the vein of Baldacci and Ludlum.  A terrorist group is trying to detonate a miniature nuclear device in Paris, and various authorities try to unravel the mystery before it’s too late.  I’m about 100 pages in, and it’s pretty good.  Certainly it’s as good as most of the mass market thrillers out there.  There’s also an author interview and maybe even a giveaway in the works, so stay tuned.

Social Punk by Monica Leonelle – Dystopia seems to be the genre du jour these days.  Socialpunk is the latest title to hop on the bandwagon, and I’ll be damned if it doesn’t look promising.  I’m also participating in the author’s blog tour at the end of this month, so in addition to a review there will also be an interview.  And who knows, maybe I can finagle a giveaway out of the author?  It’s always worth a shot.

The American Invasion of 2012 – 200 years after the War of 1812, we’re finally going to return the favor to the Brits.  Tally-ho muthah-truckah!  Um.  Yeah, not really.  But the mental image made you laugh, didn’t it?  I’m going on a business trip to the UK at the end of April, and I’m planning a post to solicit ideas for what to do while I’m there.  The trip is planned for 3 weeks, so I’ll have two weekends with which to entertain myself.  That’s a lot of looting and pillaging.

I will almost definitely read more books over the course of the month, but if I put ‘em down here you can only hold it against me when I fall short again, so mum’s the word on that. Till next time!

3 comments:

ShareThis